A true Story

“When Jesus therefore saw her weeping, and the Jews also weeping which came with her, he groaned in the spirit, and was troubled, And said, Where have ye laid him? They said unto him, Lord, come and see…”

John 11:33-35

He reached into the mailbox and pulled out a small pink envelope. It was shedding glitter as He lifted it up to His eyes to see who had sent it. Apart from the sparkling swirling designs, the place for the stamp, and the areas where the handwriting of the bright purple pen gave the names of His address and the return address, the envelope was covered in stickers. Rainbows, puppies, unicorns, and His favorite; the one that showed a lamb and a lion curled up with each other. “What a precious moment,” He thought to Himself, laughing at the irony with a booming voice that shook the foundations of His home. He opened the envelope, sat on the curb, and read:

Dear God,

I am writing to tell you that I love you but I also just dont understand some stuff. Yesterday I saw a daddy with no shirt yelling at a mommy. He must have been a daddy because he was yelling at her. He was yelling at her in the middle of the street and the mommys face looked sad and it made me really sad. Sometimes my daddy yells at my mommy even when they are not in the middle of the street and even when my daddy wears a shirt. It still makes me really sad. Mainly because my mommy makes the same face as the other mommy did yesterday. I dont understand why there is sadness and sometimes I ask my mommy if it is because I dont have a dog because dogs make me happy and she tells me no. And then I ask her if it is because I don’t have a grandpa anymore and she doesnt say anything. Maybe if you could give me a dog or give me my grandpa back then I could be happy? Anyway, I dont understand why grandpa is gone. Why do lots of people not have grandpas or grandmas or mommys or daddys? And why do some peoples dogs run away and why do some peoples daddys run away too? I think if you told me I would understand and be happy. Anyway, I was sending you this to tell you I love you.

Love,

Kasey

He dropped the letter and brought His hands up to his face. He could feel the rough scars in His palms pressing up against His forehead

…Jesus wept.

Leave a Reply

