I Called to Tell You I Love You

I don’t think I will ever tire of writing poems for this person. She is such an inspiration to me. If I had a list of the greatest things in the world (and I do) she would be up there, in all honesty, trying to pummel God for first place, and I promise God would have a hard time holding back her feisty attacks. She is just that much of a badass. I couldn’t live without her and I don’t plan on it. This poem is not one of my own transcendental ascent from musing upon her beauty, her love, her will, or passion, but is one of my decline from the thought of such greatness lost. As I said, I couldn’t live without her, and I don’t plan on it. I love you Beautiful! We know who you are!

 

I Called to Tell You I Love You

 

I called to tell you I love you

And heard near infinite ringing in my ears,

The droning dial tone ceasing,

The beginning of the shadow of your voice

On the Other side.

I pictured the list of missed calls,

On your screen, going on forever.

 

I called to tell you I love you

One last time.

In holding in those words

The sharp pangs of silence stabbed,

Like hunger, guttural and deep.

The conflicting contractions of crowning,

pushing forth a thorn’d glory unborn.

 

I called to tell you I love you

And to say don’t hang up

The phone—or your towel on the ring.

Don’t throw in the towel yet. Please.

Or all that will be left will be the smell

Of steam and nakedness, dry upon that towel,

Your ghost, trapped inside that phone.

 

I called to tell you I love you

Because it has been a long time

Since those words leapt from

My lips and startled you,

Like a first kiss that begins something new,

After following a goodnight on a porch

And the thought of something being over.

 

I called to tell you I love you,

For me.

Without you to say those three words too

I don’t know if I can believe

they exist anymore.

Without you, I have no one else

To say them too.

 

I called to tell you I love you,

To speak, as if I was God,

Into the tiny black hole that is

The receiver on my phone,

In hope that you will hear,

And also, that I would come to know

That I love you can create life.

 

I welcome your comments.

Leave a Reply

