What I learned while walking

Ok, so here is the deal, I really like these poems, like really really like, not particularly because they are some fatty cut above the rest, but because they were exceptionally fun to write. They were written while walking. I was reminded of Nietzsche who strangles Christianity for chastising idleness while affirming silence and stillness. Of course he is misinformed, as he is in most cases, but still, I am entertained at his thought, which is something like, “I would not consider worthy a thought, that was not thought while walking.”
 
So here are some walking poems. They have no legs. Instead wings. I guess while walking, truly I’m longing to fly.
 
 
Bone Wings
 
It is the child
Ugly and illegitimate,
Whose wings are young
As duckling feathers,
More bone than quill,
But sturdier the will
Which scrapes the sky
With its sharp edges;
Victor of ledge’d horizon lines.
 
 
Rapture of the Mist
 

Love never fails

To fail me
In the same manner
I have failed it
 
By suffocating it
Into an abstract  idea
Dependent on water or breath,
Instead of a bird-fish 
 
Diving and crawling,
Swimming and falling
Through murky cloud abyss,
Seizing freely a glimpse of eveningtide;
 
Or darting like an osprey,
Belly and wing, thin
As the blimped penguin 
Scraping fractured glacial sea for meaning.
 
Always denouncing it,
Forcing the inexplicit confession,
Afraid to call it what it is
And speak of love as particular; a person
 
Unmentioned, our actions
Of irreversible consequence 
Goes unspoken of before the throne
Where I reign over my own forgiveness,
 
Loving the feeling, not the conviction
Of the crescent moon
In the pubic bone
Held between the mercy of the hips.
 
The smudge below the collar
Where a birthday gathers
In the lip above the breast,
Is flushed out again before it ebbs.
 
The expanding rivulet 
Banked with strawberry
Lipstick, is the only kiss
I am grieved to forget
 
Now and at the hour
Of this trembling leap
From this ocean-cliff
Into the rapture, dense between sky and sea.
 
 
Feed me back some thoughts while you walk!
 
One response to “What I learned while walking

  • Thrower, Vicke L.

    Amazing I feel like I was walking alongside you, in your brain. Or riding a roller coaster with no glimpse of the ground going up, up, up and left hanging, waiting for that sweet catch-in-the-belly feeling but not wanting it to come because then it would be over.

    I need to catch my breath

    You paint incredible pictures with your words.

    -vicke

    From: nowadimmirror <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: nowadimmirror <comment+rgud5vfuuptjbb0g-i-83m@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Wed, 20 Feb 2013 12:05:47 -0800 To: Vicke Thrower <vicke.l.thrower@abc.com> Subject: [New post] What I learned while walking

    sport152002 posted: “Ok, so here is the deal, I really like these poems, like really really like, not particularly because they are some fatty cut above the rest, but because they were exceptionally fun to write. They were written while walking. I was reminded of Nietzsche wh”

Leave a Reply

